Welcome to Pilgrim's Rest Golf Club
This hidden gem outside the national monument town of Pilgrim’s Rest is a tranquil and forested nine hole, eighteen tee course. With its undulating fairways, and challenging layout, this will be more than just a stroll in the park.
Tricky, well forested and surrounded by mountains, the course boasts an historic clubhouse built with materials brought by ox-wagon from Groot Marico. The plentiful birdlife, atmospheric pub and challenging yet shaded course is a must if you’re near Pilgrim’s Rest.
Details: Par 69 Length 5720 metres 18 Tee's 9 Holes Please click Here for more on our course
Ranked 5th in Mpumalanga this “Blue”, 9-hole golf course is located just off the R533, west of the village. The course is truly one of the most stunning in the area and offers a forest setting with mountains all around.
Pilgrims Rest is a tiny, historical town frequently visited for its beauty and history.
In the 1840's the world wide gripped with gold fever, when large quantities of this precious metal were discovered in California. These early finds stimulated the search for gold in other countries. The history of the Mpumalanga gold fields date back to ancient times, when unknown miners worked the quartz reefs for gold. Traces of their mining activities can still be seen all over the Northern Province and Zimbabwe. A series of minor gold deposits were found in the northern parts of southern Africa between 1840 and the early 1870's. The first gold rush in South Africa took place in February 1873 when payable gold was discovered by McLachlan, Parsons and Valentine on the farm Geelhoutboom. President Burgers visited the fields, named the digger's camp Mac Mac and declared the area the New Caledonia Gold Fields. One of the Mac Mac diggers, Alec 'wheelbarrow' Patterson, left the area to prospect further a field. Patterson found rich gold deposits in the Pilgrim's Creek.
He kept his discovery secret, but soon afterwards another digger, William Trafford, also discovered alluvial gold in the creek. The news of this rich strike triggered the first major gold rush in South Africa. Pilgrim's Rest was declared a gold field on the 22nd of September 1873.
Our Golf Club History
September 12th 1932.
The Pilgrims Rest Golf Club was founded on Monday 12th September 1932, at a public meeting held in the Pilgrims Rest Hotel. The patron was Mr. C.L. Reid while Mr. Diering, The Mine Manager, of the Transvaal Gold Mining Estates Ltd. (TGME) was elected as President, Mr.B Gardener as Chairman and Mr. N.Bailey as secretary. The mapping of the course was undertaken by Mr. Gardener in collaboration with Mr. W.D.Sinclair and Major C.Millard. The greens were to be 25ft x 30ft and the tees 6ft x 4 ft. Mr. Lapin, a local storekeeper, provided the salaries and food for the workers. The cups for the greens were made by Messrs. Gardener and Berge. The membership fees were £2 pound, for men and £1 pound for women, while the green fees were 1 shilling.................Read More